top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureERIN KELLY

How to Send Emails to Teachers

Updated: Nov 26, 2019

Students learn how to text before they know how to send a professional email or letter. It's not a surprise to receive emails like the example below, however it is disappointing to receive them from juniors.


"Hey I did the projects they are on my computer I just have like 2 more little parts and then I can submit them. But did u want me to re do it all on my computer ?"


This is an email I received with no subject line from a student yesterday. I greatly appreciated the student being proactive and reaching out about their grade, however, it's clear that they did not receive training on how to send an email to teacher.


#1- Fill in a subject- Many emails go straight to my junk mail if there's a blank Subject line. It makes it look sketchy. Keep it short and to the point. ex. Alg 2 Class Question- Sally Smith


#2- Use a professional greeting- Even if you don't greet me professionally face to face. ex. Good morning/afternoon/evening Ms./Mr. teacher last name, (coach/principal last name, also works)


#3- Use formal writing- This is not a text message. You need to write out whole sentences with correct grammar and punctuation. i's need to be capitalized, u's need to be spelled out.


#4- Say something nice- You want teacher to enjoy reading one nice thing before your actual request or question. ex. Hope you're having a nice break.


#5- Explain your problem in 2 sentences max- No one reads lengthy emails. "If it's more than one swipe one your phone, it's too long."- Mr. Butler


#6- Say an appreciative comment- This is the closing that sandwiches the request with positivity. When trying to explain to someone that they made a mistake or you need them to fix something, you want to make it clear that you are being polite and respectful.


#7- Professional closing- Examples: Sincerely, With gratitude, Respectfully, etc.


With these simple steps, you'll rock your communication with your teachers and be able to easily transition to communicating with your professors in college. Happy emailing!


Sandra missed a test in her Geometry test and wanted to know the date and time to make it up.

Subject: (blank)

Hey mr. smith. i wasn’t there for the test on friday and was wondering if i could take it on tuesday morning.

thank u,

Sandra


Subject: Missed Geometry Test - Sandra Watson

Good morning Mr. Smith, I hope you’ve had a relaxing weekend so far. I was home with a cold on Friday so I ended up missing the most recent test. What day and time would work best for you so I can make it up? Thank you for your time.

Sincerely,

Sandra Watson

6th Period


bottom of page